Sunday

Today was kind of an uneventful day.  We had the kids up way too late last night and Fish and I drank probably a little too much. We crashed into bed.  Moe ended up sleep walking a few times.  She would come into the room and have strange conversations with me.  Poor baby had too much excitement for one night apparently.

Today was a lazy day, for my family.  They all kept each other busy with Wizard 101, while I did laundry and cleaned and prepared breakfast, lunch, dinner and more monkey bread.  I feel like the lower the temperature drops, the more I cook.  Today started out at 20 degrees and warmed up to mid 30’s.  I didn’t bother going outside at all.  The girls did.  They lasted about a minute, ha!

Here is the monkey bread I made today…

monkey2

 

The nuts are only on half of the bread because I’m the only one who likes them.  The reason I made another one is because yesterday I didn’t cut the rolls before using them and Fish thought they were too big.  Not like his mama would make.  I still had some rolls leftover in the freezer so I remade it with a loaf pan, instead of a bundt pan.  It was really good.  I agree, that it is better with the smaller pieces of dough.  Here is the recipe if interested…

Ingredients:

Frozen rolls (like Bridgford brand.  The kind that you need to rise and then cook, not brown and serve)

1/2 cup butter (melted)

1 cup sugar

2 teaspoons cinnamon

Chopped Pecans (optional)

 For a loaf pan I used about 12 rolls, if you are using a bundt pan, use around 20 – 24 rolls.

 Take rolls out.  Place them on a cookie sheet and cover with paper towel, let them thaw for around 2 hours.

 Grease your loaf or bundt pan.

 Put nuts at the bottom of pan.

 Mix sugar with cinnamon.

 Cut rolls into quarters.  Dip rolls into butter, coat well, roll them in sugar mixture.  Place evenly into pan.  Cover with paper towel, let rise for 2 – 3 hours.  Preheat oven to 350.  Bake bread for 25 – 30 minutes.  You want the rolls to be browned on top and sound hollow when you tap them.

Turn out of pan immediately

Leave a Reply

