California, Day 1.

Our first visit back to California after almost a year of living in North Carolina.  I had a lot of feelings about this trip.  Having never lived anywhere else but California my entire life, it was weird to be a visitor.  I’ve been really happy in North Carolina, but I was kind of worried that once we arrived in California, I would miss it so much that I would want to move back.  Thankfully, that didn’t happen.  Whew.  Instead, what happened was that I was reminded of all the great things about California that I love and I feel very blessed to know that I can live where I’m happy and now have a place to visit that makes me happy too.  The best of both worlds!

Since this was such a big moment in my families life, I thought it would be best to document everything we did.  Boy, did we do a whole lot.  So here is our trip in parts.

Day 1.  Bags packed.  House cleaned (I hate returning to a messy house whenever I go anywhere).  We were ready to go.  I hated waiting for the taxi, so much anticipation.  The ride to the airport was uneventful, as was getting through security.  We were waived through and had at least an hour to hang out before boarding our flight.

?????????

Our flight boarded around 5 p.m.  The girls did great for their first flight ever.

sisandsis

?????????????????????????????????????????????????.

A mouth full of snacks.

moefriend

Molly was so excited to finally see her best friend again.

The worst part of the flight was during landing.  Molly began screaming in agony from ear pain.  She had made a lot of friends during the flight (such a ham!) and they were so nice.  They were offering us gum and chewy candy, but she was so afraid swallowing because of the pressure in her ear.  Luckily, it passed fairly quickly and we were off the plane and headed to the car rental.

Our shuttle to the car rental office was really fun for the kids.  The lady driving the shuttle was so great with the girls.  Funny enough she had family near where we live here in NC.  She was talking to the girls, making jokes with Molly.  Pointing out all the neat lights around the airport.  The girls loved her.

There was a dramatic contrast between the airport in Raleigh and that shuttle ride in Los Angeles.  We went from a quiet, not very busy airport to traffic, sirens, stop lights everywhere.  Welcome home, ha!

We made it to my parents around 8 p.m. (time travel is awesome!).  The kids showered/bathed and we got them into bed.  I crashed by 9 p.m.

 

 

One thought on “California, Day 1.

  1. The worst part of the flight was during landing. Molly began screaming in agony from ear pain. She had made a lot of friends during the flight (such a ham!) and they were so nice. They were offering us gum and chewy candy, but she was so afraid swallowing because of the pressure in her ear. Luckily, it passed fairly quickly and we were off the plane and headed to the car rental. every flight he having this ?

Leave a Reply

