1-4-2013

We all woke up this morning to find that Hobo had been in a fight.  Poor Hobo.  He’s done pretty well out here since our move.  The day before we traveled to Pennsylvania to attend my grandmother’s funeral, in August, Hobo had come home with a pretty bad gash on his face.  He recovered and nothing had happened since then, until today.  Maybe there is a new cat in the neighborhood, or he is venturing out further, as he becomes more familiar with his surroundings.  Either way, we wrapped him up in the family’s favorite blanket and let him recover the day away.

 Recovering from getting in a fight last night :(

While Hobo was recovering, Fish and I took the girls to school, then came back home to do a few odd jobs before heading out to the movies to see Les Miserables.

What a great movie.  I’d always loved the story and mourned the fact that I never saw the musical when I was in high school.  It had been very popular then and many a Les Miserables t-shirts were worn to school at that time.  There is so much to say about this version.  When it was over I felt exhausted!  So many different emotions in such a relatively short amount of time.  A surprise for me was how much I loved Sacha Noam Baron Cohen’s acting.  Normally, I think his choice of comedy is kind of gross, but he and Helena Bonham Carter (a favorite of mine) added some much needed and well played out levity to the performance as Thénardier and Madame Thénardier.

gavroche

If Molly was a boy, she’d be this guy.

The character who stole my heart was definitely Gavroche.  He was such a spunky little guy, his personality reminded me so much of Molly.  She’s a born rebel.

Anyhow, after the movie, it was back to reality.  Time to get the girls from school.  They all had a great day.  Molly was happy to tell me that FOUR kids in her class got moved to yellow, whole she stayed on green.  Go Molly!  Emily is having some drama at school.  Her and some classmates are practicing to do a performance of the tinikling dance during the upcoming book fair, but one of the classmates dropped out and they “just don’t know if they’ll be able to get it together before the performance!”  Stay tuned to find out if it all comes to fruition.

Stir fry for dinner.

30 minutes of Yoga.

Now I’m getting ready to get the kids in bed.  First I have to find out where Audrey and Molly are and I need to get Emily away from her game of Minecraft!

One thought on “1-4-2013

  1. Poor Hobo. Hope his recovery goes well and the next turf war isn’t a hard on him.

    My kids play minecraft too, I don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

