1-3-2013

Stayed up later last night that I should have, but I had a good reason.  Fish and I were watching movies.  First we watched a gory sci fi called Dredd.  Great special effects, but yuck.  A little too much blood and guts for me.  We made up for that viewing by watching Pitch Perfect afterwards.  I loved that movie.  It made me want to start an a cappella singing club, too bad I can’t sing.

Woke up this morning feeling as stiff as the Tin Man.  I think I’m starting to suffer from arthritis.  Ugh, it makes me feel so old to type that, but it is what it is.  We hurried to get the kids ready for school.  I overheard Moe telling Audrey that she didn’t like school because everything happens so fast and she doesn’t know what is happening most of the time.  That tugged at my heart a bit but Fish told me later that it’s not going to kill her and she needs to learn how to get through her day without us.  Rationally, I could agree, but emotionally, I just worry.

After dropping the kids off at school, Fish and I went to the store to pick up my old person medicine.  Hopefully this helps with my aches and pains.

Ugh, aches, pains, falling down stairs.  Feeling OLD.

With ENERGY, raaaaawrrrrrr

That fall down the stairs the other day hasn’t helped much either.  Not to mention working out my neglected muscles.  I don’t know how I’m getting around at all these days.

When we got home I put dinner in the crockpot.

Made a few more mason jar covers.

IMG_0843

You can put your tea in it!

Ordered a t-shirt.

Then it was time to pick up the kids.  They all had a great day, including Molly, who announced that she “LOVES SCHOOL!!”  What a little scamp.  To think I worried about her at all today.

I helped Molly with her homework and admired Emily’s homework.

Emily's homework.  I love this little guy that she drew.

Then it was time for dinner.  My favorite cold day, or really any day, soup.  Curried Pork with Split Peas and Kale.  I like to serve it with naan.

upload

After dinner, I worked out (Yoga, again) for 30 minutes.  Then bathed the kids.  While helping the littles get dressed, Audrey asked me with great concern whether or not she was ugly.  I was so shocked and sad to hear her ask such a thing.  We had a long talk about how beauty comes from the inside and you should never judge a person by whether or not we think they are beautiful.  I think it helped.  She had a rather long list of things that she didn’t like about herself, which kind of broke my heart.

We played Monopoly to make her feel better.  She’s beating the pants off of every one of us.  We stopped the game to get everyone in bed sort of on time.

Now I’m eating kale chips that I made with chili-infused olive oil and I’m about to work on some knitting orders.  I’m also trying to read every night before bed.  Hopefully that happens tonight.

4 thoughts on “1-3-2013

  1. I love my mason jar hangy things. They are so pretty. I get compliments on them often. 🙂 Have you been cooking with kale long? I bought some last week for the first time ever and then let it get gross in the fridge because I was too scared to cook with it.

  2. I’m glad you like them. I’ve been finding all sorts of uses for them around the house. Hanging pen holders, hanging things in the pantry, etc. If you want more, let me know!

    I love kale. I mostly just put it in soups, it holds up better than spinach and it tastes really good too. I’ve baked it for kale chips also. Emily likes to eat it raw.

  3. 1. Poor Audrey. She is such a beautiful soul inside and out. I hope she finds her confidence and how to hand on to it.

    2. That shirt- Ha!

    3. Those mason jar holders are adorable.

Leave a Reply

