Working Out

It’s been a while since my last post.  I’ve been….working out.  Yep, working out.  That is so unlike me, isn’t it?  In the past I’ve been able to manage my weight through calorie counting alone.  Then babies came along and I fell into a deep state of denial about how overweight I’ve become.  Then I’d see a picture of myself and shudder.  Then I had my breast reduction surgery that was extremely necessary, whether I was overweight or not.  That decision is probably one of the most important decisions I have ever made.  I suddenly realized that I didn’t hate hot days at all.  I hated having to wear industrial strength undergarments on hot days.  What a revelation!

So, here I am with no excuses not to workout (before the surgery it was very uncomfortable to jump, jog, or move in a way that would burn calories).  I started to lose weight again by watching calories, but then I began to yo yo.  In the past couple of years I’ve noticed more body aches and pains.  I had to face the reality that I needed to start strengthening my entire body.  Last week I started the P90X workouts and on the third day I did something wrong or stupid, whatever.  I messed my neck up big time.  Not only could I not move it in any direction without pain, it also hurt to just talk.  Biting, chewing, swallowing caused extreme muscle spasms in my neck.  It was the pits.  I felt pretty useless by the weekend.

Monday came around and I felt much better so I began the workout program all over again.  Today is day 4 and I’m feeling really good.  Fish has done the program before and he’s doing it again with me now.  He told me not to look at the scale for two weeks, so I’m not sure how my progress is weight wise.  I’m eating a lot more fiber, less sugar.  I’m also still eating foods that I like because if I don’t, I won’t be able to sustain this program.

I’ll be sure to share any progress in two weeks.  I’ve been getting a lot of encouragement from Fish and from friends online.  That helps a lot.  It also helps to see my kids watching me and cheering me on during workouts, haha.

2 thoughts on “Working Out

Leave a Reply

