The End

Tomorrow the kids go back to school.  This holiday was a strange one, as it lasted so much further into January than previous Winter holidays.  With the warm weather we’ve had the entire time, it felt like Summer Vacation, which was really messing with my head because when Summer hits, we are out of here.  With that in mind, I added a page of Last Hurrahs.  I have a lot more to add to it, but that is the list that was in my mind at the time.

A quick wrap up of the end of this time off.  We got desks!  Not just one desk, but two.  When we moved Clarabelle into her own room we wanted to buy her a desk.  All of the year end holidays got in the way.  Then a few weeks ago, while Fish was out with the girls and I was home wrapping Christmas gifts, they all found this desk and brought it home.

When they found the desk it was a brownish color, my dad painted it white.

Then, the other day, I took the girls to visit my parents’ and I found this desk for Fish.

Fish loves it, which totally makes up for the fact that the shoes I bought him for Christmas didn’t fit.

I’ve been cooking a lot lately.  I found out that you can prepare quinoa in the rice cooker.  This is a great discovery for me, as I always seem to ruin it on the stove top.  1 cup of quinoa to 2 cups of water in my rice cooker makes a perfect batch.

I whipped up a  Quinoa Taco Salad yesterday.  It’s fat free, except for the Avocado, but I’m not giving up my avocado, ha!

It has red pepper, cucumber, red onion, jalapeno, cilantro, avocado and lemon juice.  Salt to taste.

I also made myself a waffle sandwich since I don’t know if I’ll ever get over to Bruxie for a meal.  Also, I read their ratings online and have heard mixed reviews, which kind of disappoints me.

I’m hoping to spend the rest of the afternoon knitting and relaxing, bracing myself for a busy week ahead.

 

2 thoughts on “The End

  1. Love the desks!
    My cousin went to that waffle place, and the next day had some sort of crazy, high cholesterol-induced hallucination-type episode at school (she works at the school). She blamed the fried chicken waffle sandwich. Maybe she just got dizzy & was seeing spots… I don’t remember. Either way, it was slightly funny (because she ended up being okay) and sorta scary (because apparently you can’t trust a waffle sandwich).

Leave a Reply

