Homemade Laundry Detergent

I’m sorry for teasing you with the picture of laundry detergent in my previous post.  I wasn’t sure if anyone wanted to know more information or not.  Now that I know, here are the directions for making your own laundry detergent.

You will need the following.

Borax
Super Washing Soda
Bar Soap (I’ll explain more on this)

The formula is one cup Borax, one cup Super Washing Soda and one bar of soap, grated.  I was able to find all my ingredients at Walmart.  I foundd one or two of the items needed at other stores, but Walmart was the only place that carried the Super Washing Soda, so you might want to save yourself a trip and shop there first.

Bar Soap.  The bar soap I ended up using was Kirk’s Castile Soap.  It’s pure and gentle and has no harsh chemicals or additives.  Other recipes I found online used Ivory soap, while other recipes I found suggested the use of laundry soap, like Fels Naptha.  I haven’t yet tried a batch with the laundry soap because I wanted to try out a more gentler formula first.  When I first started looking for the Castile soap I was looking in the laundry area of the store, you can find that soap in the bath/beauty section of the store.  This is probably obvious to everyone, but I thought I would share so nobody gets as frustrated as I was looking for that soap!  I don’t have a food processor so I hand grated the bar soap, use a fine grate.  Whatever you use to grate the soap with, don’t worry, it washes away and can be used again with no residue in your food later.  I assure you the cheese I grated last night doesn’t taste like my laundry.

Measurements.  I have a front load HE washer and I use a little over a tablespoon of the detergent for each load.  I use a coffee scoop, measuring a little over half a scoop for each load.

Essential Oils.  You can use essential oils to scent your detergent.  I have not yet added essential oil to this batch, but it takes about 10 – 15 drops, depending on the size of the batch you make.  I’ve used essential oils with laundry boosters in the past when I had cloth diapers.  They make your laundry room smell great, but the scent usually doesn’t make it past the drying cycle.

Fabric Softener.  Vinegar makes a great fabric softener, I highly recommend it.  I just fill the fabric softener dispenser in my machine.  If you don’t have a dispenser 1/3 to 1/2 a cup is a good measurement to use.  My clothes never come out smelling like a pickle, so no worries about that.

So that’s most of what you need to know about making your own laundry detergent.  If you try it out, let me know what you think.  I’ve done about 10 loads of laundry and have been really happy with how my clothes are coming out.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Detergent

  1. I feel like I’m missing something. What is the ratio of all these ingredients? Is it as simple as one box of each and one bar of soap mixed together and you are done?

  2. “The formula is one cup Borax, one cup Super Washing Soda and one bar of soap, grated. I was able to find all my ingredients at Walmart. I foundd one or two of the items needed at other stores, but Walmart was the only place that carried the Super Washing Soda, so you might want to save yourself a trip and shop there first.”

    Just mix that ratio together and you’re done! 🙂

  3. Thank you so much. I have all the ingredients and I will make it right now so I can wash the sheets with it. How very simple and can’t wait to smell and see the outcome. Have a great day. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

