SPARKLEBALL!! Tutorial

It’s that time of year to show off some SPARKLE.  I actually got ahead of myself and made a FALLKLEBALL!! for Halloween.

So let’s begin.

First and probably most important, put some Italian Beef* in your crockpot.

You’re going to be busy all day getting supplies and crafting.  You don’t want to be cooking at the end of the day.  Plus, you get the added bonus of smelling lovely, lovely Italian Beef every time you walk past your kitchen.  Winner, winner, chicken dinner.

Supplies needed.

50   9 oz. clear plastic cups

2   50 count light strands

Soldering Iron

I strongly suggest you do all of your melting work outside.  There are a lot of fumes from melting the plastic.  I even had a fan running to blow the smoke away from me as I get headaches easily from any intense odors.  Since I was banished outside with my project I decided to watch Frasier on my Kindle.  Look, it’s a Christmas episode!

Entertainment is necessary because the beginning of the project is kind of boring.  You need to make a hole at the bottom of each cup.  It needs to be big enough to push 2 lights through, but not so big that they fall right out.  I find that pushing through the thick part of my soldering iron and wiggling around a bit is the perfect size.

If you don’t have a Kindle to watch.  Find a kid to converse with.  Mine talked my ear off the entire time.  I have no idea what happened on Frasier by the time I was done with this first step.

Next, the most nerve-wracking step of this whole project.  Arrange 12 of the cups into a circle.

Stick the tip of the soldering iron into cups wherever they join.  This will create an instant bond.  The cups will flare out so join at the bottom edges, instead of the top.  Next, place 9 cups on top of this first row.  They won’t fit perfectly next to each other.  Lay them around as best you can fit them and solder these to the first layer.  Do the same with the last 4 cups.  You will have a dome.  Look for spots where cups are touching and solder together to make it more structurally sound.

Repeat to make other side of ball.

Now it’s time to add lights.  I would suggest using 1 color the first time you make the ball.  This makes it easier to connect the two pieces, as you will wire them separately.  When making a single colored ball, use one string of lights and place 2 lights into each hole of each cup.

If you are using two colors do the same with each color.

Repeat on other half of ball  plug the two light strands together and then solder both sides together.    Be sure to pull the plug out.  I solder a hole between two of the cups on top to tie with twine for hanging.

Hang and light it up!

*Italian Beef

Ingredients

  • 3 1/2 to 4 pounds beef roast, sirloin tip or rump roast
  • 12 ounces (jar) Italian Giardiniera, drained, less if you want it less spicy
  • 12 ounces (jar) pepperoncini peppers
  • 1 envelope Italian salad dressing (zesty Italian)
  • 10 ounce can condensed beef broth
Place beef roast in a 3 1/2 to 5-quart slow cooker. Combine Giardiniera, pepperoncini peppers, dry salad dressing mix, and condensed beef broth.Add all mixture to crockpot. Cover and cook on LOW for 12 to 14 hours, until meat is very tender. Use a fork to shred for sandwiches and serve with crusty Italian rolls or crusty bread. Serves 10 to 15.

 

2 thoughts on “SPARKLEBALL!! Tutorial

  1. So, “Winner, winner, chicken dinner” made me cackle. I read the whole post (and I paid attention!), and I’m still laughing about it. Hehehe.
    So… HOLIDAYKLEBALL?! Doesn’t quite have the same ring to it as FALLKLEBALL!. CHANUKKLEBALL! sounds fun.

Leave a Reply

