Thanksgiving

This year, as we do every year, we celebrated Thanksgiving at my parents’ house.  My mom kind of stresses about all the cooking so, for the past few years, I’ve volunteered to bring all the side dishes.  I started cooking on Wednesday and finished Thanksgiving morning.  The usual suspects were made, green bean casserole, sweet potato casserole, sausage cranberry apple stuffing, and rolls.  I love rolls.

I didn’t make mashed potatoes or gravy because I’ve never been happy with my mashed potatoes.  Fish usually makes them when we have them with dinner.  I did make a pecan pie and a new creation that Fish requested.  A popular restaurant in Raleigh, NC makes a Chocolate Chess Pie and Fish thought this would be a good time to try out the local cuisine.  I had never heard of a Chocolate Chess Pie* before, but I had the ingredients on hand and the recipe sounded easy enough.  This unassuming little pie is soooo good.  It’s very sweet and rich, but if you have a craving for sweet chocolately goodness, this is the pie for you.  Everyone decided it was like eating a fudge/brownie in a pie crust.

I was so pooped from cooking and general business that I didn’t take many pictures.  I got one picture of Fish by my parents’ Japanese Maple because he liked the tree so much, haha.

I also took a picture of Sprite being a goober, because that is what she does!

This was our last Thanksgiving in California, which made everything kind of bittersweet.  I’m hoping that we’ll be able to have my parents come and visit us for Thanksgiving after we move.  I would love for them to visit with us and relax while Fish and I do all the work.

The downside of not hosting Thanksgiving is the lack of leftovers.  Friday came around and we were all wanting turkey sandwiches and green bean casserole.  I decided to redo our turkey dinner with a Black Friday Turkey….

Half Off!!

Half off, get it?  I know, groan.  I made all the side dishes once again and we all pigged out for dinner.  Then I was officially done with all the festivities of Thanksgiving.  Fish and I are started a much needed detox diet on Friday, you know, after the pie is all gone.

*Angus Barn Chocolate Chess Pie

  • 1 unbaked pie crust
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 2 squares bakers chocolate (semi-sweet)
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 2 eggs (beaten)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • Dash of salt

1. Melt butter and chocolate, mix with other ingredients, which have been blended together.

2. Pour into a pie shell and bake 35 minutes (no longer) at 350 degrees.

3. Top with whipped cream.

3 thoughts on “Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

