Detox

I’m back to eating low carb, as gluten free as possible, so that I can detox before the holidays that are full of all those baked goodies loaded with carbs and gluten.  For the most part it’s easy for me to follow a well rounded meal plan, but mornings have been a bit tricky.  I don’t like to eat in the morning, but I make myself because I know it’s bad for my metabolism if I don’t.  I don’t like breakfast food and the majority of foods that are quick and easy are usually sweet carbs and gluten.  I wish I liked smoothies, but I don’t.  I like to chew my meals.

Just when I thought I was doomed to a lifetime of boring scrambled eggs I happened upon a recipe for egg muffins.  They are awesome!  Consisting of eggs, meat and veggies, the flavor combinations are endless.  Plus, no gluten!

This version is Italian Chicken Sausage with Spinach and Parmesan.

Ingredients
1 lb  Chicken Sausage (or meat of your choice)
2 cups Baby Spinach (roughly chopped)
8 eggs
1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder
1/2 teaspoon oil
1/4 Cup Milk
Parmesan Cheese

Preheat oven 375.  Lightly spray muffin pan with oil (I used a nonstick pan that requires no oil)  In a skillet brown Sausage.  Turn off heat, add the Spinach.

Evenly distribute into muffin pan.

Mix together Eggs, Baking Powder, Oil, Milk.  Add Salt and Pepper, if desired.  Pour evenly into muffin pan.  Top with Parmesan Cheese.

Bake for 15 – 17 minutes.  Muffins will rise and then fall slightly.  I’ve made quite a few batches and none of them have ever overflowed from their pans.

Serve Warm.  I store muffins in a container in the fridge.  They reheat well in the microwave.  About 1 minute at 70% power.


Other versions I have made are:

Ham and Cheese
Pork Sausage with Broccoli
Bacon with Spinach

I want to make a pizza version for the kids.  I’ll test out a few version and share the ones the kids liked the most.

Recipe without pictures.

Chicken Sausage and Spinach Egg Muffins with Parmesan
Ingredients

1 lb  Chicken Sausage (or meat of your choice)
2 cups Baby Spinach (roughly chopped)
8 eggs
1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder
1/2 teaspoon oil
1/4 Cup Milk
Parmesan Cheese

Preheat oven 375.  Lightly spray muffin pan with oil (I used a nonstick pan that requires no oil)  In a skillet brown Sausage.  Turn off heat, add the Spinach.  Evenly distribute into muffin pan.  Mix together Eggs, Baking Powder, Oil, Milk.  Add Salt and Pepper, if desired.  Pour evenly into muffin pan.  Top with Parmesan Cheese.  Bake for 15 – 17 minutes.  Muffins will rise and then fall slightly.  Serve warm.

3 thoughts on “Detox

  1. Sounds similar to a recipe I found via Pinterest – put slice of candian bacon in muffin cup, crack an egg in (no scrambling, but you can if you want), top with some cheese and bake. Then put on english muffin – like an egg mcmuffin. I LOVED them and ate them with just toast.

    Looking forward to the pizza-ish versions!

Leave a Reply

