Ghosts of Babies Past

 It’s very exciting to see my kids grow, learn new things, and become independent of me.  Independent of me.  Sometimes, that’s a hard reality to absorb.  Sometimes, I wish that I could be visited by the ghosts of babies past.

Maybe hear some of the words they don’t use any more like “hankerner” instead of hamburger.

Give extra hugs and kisses to steel them for the more difficult days of the present.

Just hold them close in a quiet room as they fall asleep in my arms.

Then I’d say goodbye to these babies and enjoy the kids that are running around the house, reading on my bed, dancing in the kitchen, and leaving love notes for me to find around the house.

2 thoughts on “Ghosts of Babies Past

Leave a Reply

