The Big Bang Theory

I have a list of things that Fish and I want to do before leaving California.  This adventure was very high on our list.

Earlier this week Fish and I went to a taping of The Big Bang Theory.  We had so much fun!  My parents came over to pick up the kids from school so we could make it to the studio on time.  We were expecting traffic and the company that provides tickets suggested showing up early to check in.

I don’t have any pics to share because all electronic equipment was forbidden and they had three security checkpoints to go through, ensuring that nobody has such objects. Not that I would have tried to sneak anything in.  I’m a big rule follower.   We had to get through some traffic to get to Burbank.  When we arrived the parking garage was insane!  Fish started to get a little antsy because he hates crowds and he hates trying to find parking spots.  There were cars parked behind cars that were parked.  We kept going up, up, up to no avail.  I told Fish to breathe and stay positive.  By the time we reached the top of the parking garage, our chances of getting a spot looked kind of bleak.  There were parking attendants working hard to find spaces for everyone to park.  I have to say I was greatly impressed with the professionalism of these attendants.  They found us a spot and even parked the van for us because the spot they found was a little iffy to maneuver.

We proceeded on to the visitor center where we waited to get checked in.  After checking in we walked into the studio lot and towards the stage where the show was being taped.  We arrived at Stage 16, which was built in 1935.  Isn’t that crazy?  Giant was filmed in that stage.  Even better, The Goonies was taped in there also.

The whole process of taping a 30 minute show is quite lengthy.  There is a lot of down time in between takes and set up.  We had an audience handler who was just as entertaining as watching the show itself.  In between takes he was keeping us busy with all sorts of antics.  We had a few people come up to show their dance moves.  We made barnyard noises.  We found out that a good majority of the audience was not only from out of town, but from out of the country.  Two girls from Germany serenaded us with 99 Luftballons.  A show within a show!

Before the actual taping started we were able to preview another show from the new season.  It was really funny, of course!  Then it was time for the taping.  I have to say I was very impressed with all of the actors and how well they worked together.  They would have to retake scenes and would have direction to start from a certain line.  This was really interesting during scenes with almost the whole cast.  There would be activity in the background that they would have to sync with activity in the foreground.  Lots of stuff I never even think of when watching the show.  There were many, lines that I want to share here that had us laughing so much, but I don’t want to spoil these lines for anyone.  I hate spoilers so I’ll keep them to myself.  I will share that Wil Wheaton and Brent Spiner were both in the show.  That was an added bonus.

Total taping time was about 3 hours.  I was paranoid about having to use the bathroom (you can’t!) so I didn’t eat or drink much before the beginning.  Thankfully, they provided us with bottled water and pizza about midway through the taping. Overall, it was a great experience.  It’s a bit of a commitment to go because of the time factor, but if you have the free time and like the show, I highly recommend the experience.

2 thoughts on “The Big Bang Theory

Leave a Reply

