Pickled Eggs

Today Sprite and I made pickled eggs.  I’ve been surprised to find out that most of people I have mentioned pickled eggs to have never had them before.  I grew up on all sorts of pickled foods that my dad introduced me to at a young age.  I remember being four years old, sitting on the floor watching tv with my dad, a big jar of gelatinous pickled pigs feet between us.  I gag at the thought of those now, but back then I thought they were the most delicious things ever.  We ate a lot of pickled eggs back then too, I love them to this day.  My dad’s pickled eggs were made with pickled beets, peppers, and onions.

The recipe we’ve been enjoying nowadays is much more of a peppery base.

Pickled Eggs

Joe Jost’s Pickled Eggs

8 hard-boiled eggs, peeled
1 (12 ounce) jar yellow chile peppers
2 tablespoons pickling spice
1 cup white wine vinegar
1 1/2 scant cups water
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon turmeric
2 teaspoons salt


Lil Helper

Mix all ingredients except eggs together in a glass jar with tight-fitting lid. Put peeled eggs in liquid. Don’t refrigerate. Keep eggs in sealed jar at least two days before using. May refrigerate after two days.


Molly loved peeling the eggs and plopping them into the jar.

Helping

I’ll be sure to add a picture in two days when the eggs have properly brined.

5 thoughts on “Pickled Eggs

  1. Pingback: bethany actually» Blog Archive » microwaved coffee cake in a mug

  2. Pingback: bethany actually» Blog Archive » thirty-six to goats (minus the T)

Leave a Reply

