Not Well

For the past 2 or 3 weeks I’ve been sick.  Some days I felt really sick, other days slightly sick, but never not sick.  On the worst days I really just wanted to go back to bed and sleep the day away.  Fish begged me to do so, but I was afraid to.  I felt like if I was laying in bed on a perfectly good summer day, I was giving in to whatever it was that was ailing me.  That would make me feel really sick.  Admitting that level of sick led me to worry about more than just a passing virus.  Did I have cancer?   Did I need an operation?  On the really bad days it would take great effort to get basic tasks done without breaking out in cold sweats.  It felt like I was having a hypoglycemic episode for days at a time.  Most persistent was the nausea.

It felt like I was suffering from morning sickness but 2 negative pregnancy tests ruled that out.  I finally decided to go to the doctor.  She wants to do blood work and see if my insulin resistance and turned into something more serious.  In the meantime, she told me that I could have acid reflux and I should get some over the counter zantac to see if that would relieve the nausea.  I did and guess what?  I’m cured!

Stupid acid reflux.

3 thoughts on “Not Well

  1. UGH. At least it’s something easily treatable, though, yes?

    I was sick kind of like that once, and negative pregnancy tests and two doctor’s visits cleared nothing up. It got a little better, or I got used to it…then in passing at my annual gyno exam my doctor mentioned I had (WARNING WARNING TMI AHEAD) a common bacterial infection in my lady parts. Once I’d treated that the mystery stomacaches went away. Six months later, the weird stomachaches came back so I went to the doctor and yep, same common infection with totally uncommon symptoms. Bodies are weird.

  2. I didn’t realize how bad it was! That is pretty scary. I’m glad you’re feeling better.

    Also, Bethany, that story made me say WHOA!. Bodies keeping secrets like that – NOT OKAY.

Leave a Reply

