March 20, 2011 – This n That

Last night around 10:30 p.m. my dad called me to tell me that I never gave him the coffee I offered him when he came over for dinner earlier in the evening.  This is one of the reasons I love my dad so much, his sense of humor.  That and the fact that I can call him any time of day or night for gardening or cooking advice.  The same can be said for my mom, although she doesn’t really like to cook or garden.

Birthday Breakfast

Clarabelle had a wonderful birthday yesterday, although she wouldn’t let me take a decent picture of her to commemorate this event.  There was a lot of this going on.

 

 

Birthday Breakfast

We invited her friend to join us for breakfast.  CB and her friend are becoming somewhat inseparable.  Her friend lives right across the street and they ride their scooters and run in and out of our house all day long.  As you can see Pixie approves of this friendship as well.

Speaking of Pixie and friends.  I had a parent teacher conference with Pixie’s preschool teacher on Friday.  Pixie is doing very, very well academically.  In fact, she’s doing well beyond her age level and her teacher expects her to do very well in Kindergarten.  I was not surprised to hear that her teacher has concerns over Pixie’s ability to stand up for herself in a group of kids.  She told me that Pix is still very timid and just kind of lets the other kids in the classroom lead the way.  She’s afraid to tell kids to stay out of her personal space and the teacher has to remind Pix that it’s OK to tell a classmate that she’s not happy with them touching her.  This is one of the reasons that I put Pix in preschool.  I know that she’s made a lot of progress from the first day of class and if the worst a teacher can tell me is my kid is kind of quiet, I’ll take it!   Hopefully Pix will find more of her voice over summer vacation and she’ll be more comfortable asserting herself when Kindergarten begins.

Leave a Reply

