March 7, 2011 – Freedom

Clarabelle is getting her first taste of freedom nowadays.  We’re now allowing her to leave the backyard and ride her scooter up and down the sidewalk with her classmate/neighborhood friend.  Fish and I have talked a lot about what freedoms we will give the girls.  We’ve both been on the fence about a lot of these decisions we need to make.

Fish and I have had very similar childhoods, in which we had free reign of our neighborhood and only ran back home for meals and bathroom breaks.  It also helped that we both had older siblings that we could tag along with.  I have many great memories of walking to the nearby liquor store with my brother and picking out candy and baseball cards or walking to the local butcher to pick up a pound of ground beef for dinner.   While I don’t ever picture letting CBelle do that, I do think it’s important for her to feel a sense of independence.  I’ll admit to peeking out all the windows of the house trying to catch a glimpse of her scooting by.

I had been reluctant to allow Clarabelle to go outside the back gate for another reason, her sisters.  I knew it would cause a bit of a ruckus for them to see her leave and not be able to follow.  Surprisingly, after one incident of hurt feelings and tears, they now understand that sissy can leave with her friend without them.  That when they are old enough they can do the same.

So that is that.  Another milestone in that thing called life for my oldest babe.

2 thoughts on “March 7, 2011 – Freedom

  1. That is a big milestone! We’re lucky to live in a cul-de-sac, where Annalie has been able to have the freedom to play in our front yard and across the street in our neighbor’s yard since we moved here.

    I wonder how old I was when my mom let me start walking to the park down the street from their house? I’ll have to ask her.

  2. Tough decisions I know….we live near a intersection and I was reluctant to let Anna outside alone. I set out on the porch a lot….and watch her while Colin scooters in our long driveway. Oh they are growing up!

Leave a Reply

