January 23, 2011 – Lemons

The weather this weekend has been, what I will begrudgingly describe as, beautiful.  Sunny, slight breeze, mid 70’s.  Lovely.  My assessment of this weather kind of shocks me because I live for cold, rainy days.  Sunny days kind of bring me down.  I’ve been trying to figure out why I’ve been having such a change of heart, but I haven’t really nailed it down yet.  Maybe knowing that we won’t be experiencing “California Weather” much longer is allowing me to appreciate it more?  I’ve always been kind of annoyed when we’re in the middle of December and the weather reporter is smiling broadly while telling us we would be having “beautiful weather” the week of Christmas.  Proceeding to forecast days of 80 degrees.  80 degrees??!!??  I want to wear my tacky Christmas sweater and ditch my flip flops for some boots.

If you can’t beat them join them, right?  We spent the weekend picking lemons and flying kites.  I even got the kids to help me clean up the lemons so we can mail them to friends.

Scrubba Scrubba

All Clean

Kite Flyers

Kite Flyers

Leave a Reply

