January 20, 2011 – The Game

I’m 5 days into my first week of Weight Watchers and I’ve lost 4 lbs.  I’ll pause while you cheer, or fall off your chair, whatever.  I know a lot of people will say this is water weight, but I don’t care.  As long as I see a smaller number on my scale, I’m happy.

I’ve come to a realization about myself this week.  I would rather forgo food than work out.  I’ll eat the roasted cauliflower while yearning for mashed potatoes.  Or have an open faced sandwich, instead of a sub.  It really hasn’t been that bad, but I know that if I’m not willing to go to a spin class that there’s a lot less pizza in my future.   I hate working out, a lot.  I’m not lazy.  I love long walks, hiking, gardening, running around with the kids.  I’m rarely found sitting down doing nothing.  Heck, even when I sit, I’m knitting or pressing the “next page” button on my Kindle.  Feel the burn!!  I hate the idea of being in a stationary place, moving around, just for the sake of burning calories.  It makes me feel like a hamster.  Let me finish running around on this wheel for about an hour, and then I’ll go lick my water bottle and fluff up my wood shavings for the night.  No thanks.  I know there will be a point during this “diet” that I will have to break down and actually do a work out.  I’m hoping I can skip the DVD and go outside to turn the soil in my garden.

I thought of an even better activity that I know would burn off the calories.  I’d love for someone to fill a warehouse with a huge obstacle course.  That’s not the best part.  The best and most motivating part for me would be to have people in scary masks chase me all over the place.  Heart rate raised?  Hell yeah!!  Maybe I could fight back using the skills I would have learned a week before in their Taekwondo class?  Now this I could do.  Then afterward I could have a slice of pizza. and maybe a beer.

If anyone reading this actually likes to work out, share with me why.  Don’t tell me about some sort of high you receive from it, I save enough Weight Watchers points for alcohol every night.

4 thoughts on “January 20, 2011 – The Game

  1. When I used to run, I liked it because it got me outside (I hate running on a treadmill) and it felt GOOD to use my muscles and lungs in that way, to know that my body was working the way it was supposed to. Also, it was a great time to think and pray. And I loved that when I was running I could eat pretty much whatever I wanted and my clothes still fit! 🙂 But I actually wanted to eat more healthy foods because I knew they would help me run.

    Sigh. I miss running. I need to lose 30 pounds so I can run again without shredding my knees!

  2. Now that I’m not as top heavy, I might consider running. This is the kind of exercise I like. Being outside in the fresh air. I’ll definitely consider running when I’m down to my last 10 pounds and it gets harder to lose weight.

    Fish used to run cross country, it would be nice to go for a run together.

  3. “Let me finish running around on this wheel for about an hour, and then I’ll go lick my water bottle and fluff up my wood shavings for the night.”
    and
    “Don’t tell me about some sort of high you receive from it, I save enough Weight Watchers points for alcohol every night.”
    Those are the funniest things I’ve read in a while. 🙂

    The only workout I ever did consistently was a kickboxing class two nights each week. I loved it because it was challenging (I love feeling exhausted after a workout) and because it was just super-fun. I would bounce around kicking the sh*t out of the pads the instructor held out and I would LAUGH because it was so much fun.
    Then I got pregnant and had to stop, and then I had a baby who made me too tired to kick stuff and also didn’t like it when I left the house at night.
    One day though… I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

