January 17, 2011 – Coupons

Wow, coupons.  How thrilling, right?  I realize this is really nerdy and boring but I’m all about saving money right now.  Fish and I have made a pact to really stick to a firm budget and part of that pact was I agreed to make all our meals.  This is a bit of a huge task because we are both home 24/7 so I’m making breakfast, lunch and dinner.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not presenting him with a meal for breakfast and lunch, I ain’t no maid!  I am making sure that there is food in the fridge and pantry with which Fish can make a lunch.  Thank goodness the man actually likes leftovers.

With all this menu planning and money talk, I have started to use coupons.  I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I’m getting a little crazy with the coupons.  I don’t just go to the store and pick out anything willy nilly.  There is a plan and a list, and by God, there are coupons!  It gets a little crazy making because every time I’m putting something in my cart I’m thinking that maybe I missed or forgot a coupon for that particular item.  I’m learning how to let go.

So how’s about I wrap up this ridiculously dull post with an even duller menu?

Monday – Meatloaf, Mashed Potatoes  (It was delicious)

Tuesday – Crockpot Italian Herbed Chicken

Wednesday – Spaghetti, Salad, Garlic Bread

Thursday – Red Chili Beef w/ baked tortilla chips

Friday – Italian Beef Sandwiches w/ roasted Cauliflower

Saturday – Rice Salad with Roasted Chicken

Sunday – Haven’t decided!

One thought on “January 17, 2011 – Coupons

  1. You can make Sunday a fend for yourself night – we love those around here. There are leftovers or sandwiches or mac n cheese.

    Also, recipe for the crockpot chicken please 🙂

Leave a Reply

