Dentist

Today I had to take Clarabelle to the dentist.  This was actually a follow up from work that we had started months ago, but one thing after another got in the way of this appointment.  I was kind of embarrassed about the amount of time it took us to go in for this second filling and sealants, but I guess this is definitely a case of better late than never.

I made the appointment about a week ago, knowing that CB would be on vacation.  Last night I was having a hard time deciding whether or not I wanted to tell her about it then or wait till this morning to tell her.  I mulled it over for a bit and then decided that I would prefer to know the night before so I gritted my teeth and let her know.  Of course there were tears and sadness, but she handled it pretty well.  She went to bed without any fussing and woke up this morning ready to get it over with.

On the way to the dentist CB talked a lot.  She’s a nervous talker.  My ears were starting to hurt but if that’s what she needed to get through it all, I was willing to be there for her.  It was a long visit.  I think that CB was in the chair for at least an hour and a half.  I’m really proud of her.  Before we went she had asked me if we could skip using the nitrous.  I told her that it was up to the doctor.  He didn’t think it was a good idea and she accepted his decision.

I’m so glad this is over with.  It was kind of hanging over my head for a while.  My parents live fairly close to the dentist so we dropped in on them for a quick visit.  My dad was so happy with CB that he gave her a hat that he had bought for her earlier this week.  I love it.
Day 6 - Dentist Day, sigh.

After we got back home I spent the rest of the day running around getting last minute things for Christmas.  Tonight I’ll be doing a lot of wrapping.

Leave a Reply

