The Other Side – Light At the End

I know it’s been a while since I’ve written a The Other Side post.  I will soon, but I felt the need to write something really quickly now.  Maybe somebody out there needs to hear that there is always light at the end of the tunnel.

Fish and I have had many sleepless nights not sure what the future would hold for our baby.  There was a time that I thought our “at best” would be a child who would be somewhat accepted by her peers.  I even thought we could settle for a child who would be a loner, that hopefully nobody would pick on.  There were times that I found it hard to get through a day with all of the emotions and outbursts.  I was having a hard time getting up each morning knowing what I would be up against for the day.  A child who woke me up at 6 a.m. ready to vomit at the side of my bed because of anxiety.  Who then, took all those emotions out on me on a minute by minute basis.

There was rage and then worry.  Anxiousness bottled up and then released in a wave of tantrums and tears.  I was needed to comfort and then I was pushed away because I didn’t understand.  It was hell and there were times that I felt the weight of the world on me.  Yes, my child had two parents, but I felt like I, the mom, had to answer to the questions of why?  Why is your daughter not perfect in every way?

Well, I know longer worry about the answers because my daughter IS perfect in every way.  She has blossomed into a happy, social little girl.  Fish and I talk about the bad from the past and can’t believe the good we are living now.  I am so thankful for all the people who have been in our lives who have helped us find our way as a family.  If you need to hear it.  There is light at the end.  Some days it may seem dim or maybe just a teeny tiny spark, but it is there.  I promise.

One thought on “The Other Side – Light At the End

  1. This is an awesome post. I love you guys. 🙂

    I didn’t know you till after you’d already made it most of the way through the tunnel, I think. I have only been able to marvel at your stories from days gone by and assure you that Clarabelle is indeed an awesome kid.

Leave a Reply

