Update

Thank you to everyone who has been in touch and asking about Sprite.  I have some good news to share regarding her eating.  I’ve found products that have ensured that she has a sort of well rounded diet.  With her affinity for milk, she was starting to get constipated, so I’ve found some work arounds to keep that from happening.

Right now Sprite’s diet consists of milk, yogurt, peanut butter (licked off of toast that she won’t eat), and applesauce.  These are things that she is willing to lick and then swallow.  The yogurt she will spoon and swallow.  To get vegetables into her, I have been slipping pureed vegetables into the peanut butter.  Usually carrots or butternut squash.  It’s difficult to get any green veg into her right now, but I’ll keep trying.  I wasn’t at all happy with the idea of so much dairy so I was thrilled to find these applesauce pouches at Trader Joe’s that she will eat consistently.  I tried to get her to eat the carrot/applesauce pouches, but she won’t.  They are a bit pricey, but it’s not like we’re spending a lot of money on food for Sprite anyhow.  I’ll take what I can get!

I’m hoping that we have some breakthrough in the next couple of weeks that will get her comfortable with chewing more.  She has been starting to hold Cheerios in her mouth and also a Trader Joes version of Pirate’s Booty.  Instead of swallowing when it softens, she runs to the trash to through it away.  Small steps.

In other news, nothing much is going on round here.  I’m a little bitter about all the time off the kids are getting from school.   Not that I don’t like having them around, but 15 days of school for the month of November is, in my opinion, lacking.  Budget cuts – another reason to leave California.

One thought on “Update

  1. Yay for Sprite and the progress in the food war. Baby steps.

    I think the budget cuts for schools are universal. Some places worse than others I’m sure, but it still sucks all around. And it seems like instead of teaching the kids the teachers spend more time testing them and filling out paperwork and more testing. Most times I feel the kids are learning more when they aren’t at school than when they are. If it makes ya feel any better, we have 18 days of school this month…

Leave a Reply

