The Other Side – The Beginning

With September 11 passing I was reminded of what may have been the beginning of CB’s problems.  On September 11, 2001 I had just begun my 2nd trimester and began bleeding that day.  I was very concerned and spent most of my day at the doctor’s.  All looked well.  I continued to have spotting throughout my pregnancy.

The night before I had CB I had a horrible bleeding incident.  I was 37 weeks pregnant.  I had thought that my water had broke so I ran to the bathroom only to realize that all of the liquid pouring out of me was bright red blood.  It wouldn’t stop.  Fish and I hurried to the hospital where I was monitored for a few hours.  Once again, all looked fine and they sent me home.  The next morning around 5 a.m. I began labor.

Clarabelle’s birth was somewhat difficult.  She was sunny side up and right away I noticed that her head was a bit misshapen and her neck was kind of kinked.  Her left ear stayed very close to her shoulder.  She was very calm after birth.  Just laying in her bassinet, taking in the world around her.

I was recovering from a 4th degree tear and being a mom was completely new to me.  I had no idea what was “normal” with a newborn.  This was most likely a huge blessing.  If I had more knowledge I probably would have had many sleepless nights.

2 thoughts on “The Other Side – The Beginning

  1. Whoa, bleeding like that must have been SO scary. And a 4th-degree tear? YEOWCH.

    Something tells me these “other side” posts are going to make me cry a lot, and also say prayers of thanks for the awesome kid Emily is and what a great family you guys have today. 🙂

  2. That tear was awful and my epidural was wearing off. I could start to feel the stitches as the doctor was sewing me up.

    I was thinking about how cathartic writing these posts will be. They are such a part of me and CB’s life. I’ve retold it so many times to numerous doctors, therapists, etc. that it doesn’t bring on the same emotions for me, but yes, there will probably be tears. I think most of them can be of joy, because we know the outcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

