Drained

The drains were removed today.  This made me so very happy.  I don’t know how to explain the drains and their effect on me.  They were a real downer and a large part of what, in my opinion, made recovery really difficult.  I almost took a picture of them, but they were so gross I didn’t want to document their existence.  If you have no idea what I’m talking about, I’ll describe.  On each side of my body, right about where the bottom of your bra strap lays, there was a small incision made and a tube was put in there.  The tube reached up inside as far as the crease of my armpit, but more in the top breast area.  On the outside there was about about a foot and a half of tubing with a bulb at the end that collected any drainage.  I know, GROSS.  By yesterday I was so tired of these things.  They made it hard to sleep or relax in any way.  I have some sensory issues, like Clarabelle, and all I could think about was the fact that these things were in me.  Also, the area where they entered my body was so tender from the rubbing.

Today I was really scared about the idea of the drains being pulled out, but the idea of them being gone gave me the strength to get through it.  It was a lot easier than I thought it would be.  The nurse told me to take a deep breath and she just pulled them out.  The second one was a little painful at the incision site, but it felt good in a weird way.

After my appointment I felt like a new person.  Fish and I went to the Cheesecake Factory for lunch and later today I snuck out to buy some goodies at Trader Joes.  Now it’s slowly back to regular day to day.  I’m looking forward to school starting for the girls.  I think it’s going to be a great school year for Clarabelle and Pixie.  Pixie’s preschool packet came in the mail yesterday.  Open House is on 9/2.

5 thoughts on “Drained

  1. I hear ya. The “there’s something on/in me” feeling makes me all tense and I feel like I had better not move a muscle in case it hurts me/pulls something out/breaks something off in me. It was one of my main concerns about laboring in the hospital because they put an IV or HEPlock in your arm. Ugh. I hated that thing!

  2. When I had surgery on my wrist years ago, even weeks after the stitches were gone and I was healing well, I was TERRIFIED that if I bent my hand, it would burst open and, I don’t know, all my guts would spill out. Not logical in the least. My point is that I FEEL FOR YOU. Squick.

  3. So funny you brought this up, because I’m in the “my guts are going to fall out phase” now, hahaha. I think it came to a head last night and I’m becoming a little more rational about it now.

Leave a Reply

