Distraction

I was trying to come here everyday to write and I thought I was doing a pretty good job.  Then Pixie got sick and down I went.  The past couple of weeks have been really hard on me.  I know this sounds really stupid, it’s  a rash for God’s sake, but it was tough.  Knowing that Pix was so uncomfortable and hearing her scream every time she went to the restroom was awful.  We’ve been stuck at home waiting for her to clear up, she’s been too uncomfortable to enjoy an outing for any length of time.

Our days have been spent soaking in baths, applying creams, administering medicine.  We’ve been to the doctor’s twice, have tried 5 different ointments and 2 oral medications.  Pixie has gone from bad to good to bad to OK, with an all over body rash.  I think she is finally on the mend.  The last ointment, that cost $90 seems to  to be doing the trick.  I keep the tube in a locked box in a secret hiding space.

By yesterday, I was ready for a distraction.  My yellow tomato plant has been producing a lot of tomatoes so I decided to try making some Yellow Tomato Preserves.  I’d never heard of these preserves before, my dad told me that his mom used to make it when he was a kid.  It’s a mixture of sugar, lemons and yellow tomatoes.  The taste is lemony and sweet, you can’t really taste the tomato at all.  It’s really good on bread and I think it would be a great addition to roast pork.

I took a few pictures while cooking.  I’m sad I forgot to take a picture of the thinly sliced lemons, they were so pretty!

Yellow Tomatoes!

Yellow Tomato Preserves

Peeled.

Yellow Tomato Preserves

Chopped.

Yellow Tomato Preserves

Cooking. (see the lemons?)

Yellow Tomato Preserves

Canned! YUMMY 🙂

Yellow Tomato Preserves

2 thoughts on “Distraction

  1. Aw, Pixie. 😦 I really hope this med is the one that kicks the rash to the curb! Being sick like that is no fun at all.

    If you have any of your yellow tomato preserves left when I’m there, I’ll have to try some!

  2. I’ll definitely save you a jar of preserves. Even if you don’t like how it tastes, it’s pretty to look at, ha!

Leave a Reply

