Changes

Fish and I have been talking about moving the girls into a room together and turning Sprite’s room into a playroom/tv room for the kids.  We were going round about with plans to purchase a bunk bed, the tv, call cable, use bean bags, no – buy a couch, forget that a chair will do… on and on and on.  My head was starting to hurt.  What I envisioned as a simple move around was turning into a costly renovation.  Also, with the plans to add more furniture, meant more time stalling and waiting for the change to happen.

I got antsy this afternoon and decided to just move everything the way I had originally planned in the first place. I won’t go into great detail because there wasn’t anything creative or cute behind my plans.  I just crammed Sprite’s crib into an empty space I created by removing a bookcase from her sisters’ room (now her room too!)  I planted that same bookcase sideways in Sprite’s old room with plans to put a tv on it as soon as we purchase one.

Here I am with my hand.

Soooo, what does this all mean?  It means that all three girls are sharing a room and sleeping in it together for the first time.  Bedtime went a lot smoother than I had anticipated.  Aside from the fact that Sprite decided to start climbing out of her crib for the very first time tonight.  She did!  I caught her trying to get Pixie to move over so they could share a bed.  Awwww, ain’t that the cutest thing?  NO!  It’s all cute till somebody gets angry.  They’re sisters so anger erupts at least every 30 seconds or so.  I curtailed that behavior right quick and ended up with a slobbery crying Sprite who told me that she “wants to go home”.  That’s what Sprite says when she is upset and not happy with her situation.  Normally, that kind of makes me giggle, but the idea of this turning into some kind of bedtime circus started to freak me out so I got kind of harpy and loud and made everyone cry, including myself.  BUT!  Within 10 minutes all was right with the world and the girls were off to dreamland.  Fish, on the other hand, was in the living room.  He’s a smart man.

I’ll take some pictures soon.  I have these dreamy notions of knitting/crocheting special blankets for each of the girls’ beds, but I don’t think that will ever happen.  My workload has been so busy.  I need to figure out a happy medium with that venture.

One thought on “Changes

  1. Wow. All three girls in one room? You’re brave! 🙂 I can so relate to projects spiraling out of control in the planning stages. I’m always imagining all these great things I could do with room X if I only had these bookcases and this shelving and that chair, etc. Then I get overwhelmed and never do anything because it’s too expensive and time-consuming. I love that you just sucked it up and moved stuff!

    Miss you guys!

Leave a Reply

