FOOD revisited

Since writing about food in my last post I’ve been thinking about something that has been on my mind for a while now.  Fish and I decided to get rid of all processed foods months ago and then in the more current months we have fine tuned our diet (not a restrictive DIET, but what we consume in general) to a well balanced menu of protein, carbs, and veg, with a smattering of healthy fats throughout.  One point that I will admit is that SOMETIMES eating this way takes a little more time and effort, but I CANNOT and WILL NOT agree that eating healthy is more costly than eating crap.  Crap can be defined as some fast foods and anything else you can ingest that has no true dietary benefit.  Yes, there are times that a healthy choice can be much more expensive than a non healthy choice, but there are many, many options for a well balanced low cost meal.

This is an example of what we eat on a regular day…

1 cup cereal, with 1 cup milk

1 apple with a cheese stick

1 wrap or tortilla with 1 slice of turkey bacon, lots of lettuce, cucumber, tomato, onion, and a splash of fat free salad dressing

1 cup of yogurt with a tablespoon of granola

Tostada made from baked corn tortilla, homemade refried beans (one can pinto beans mashed in skillet), lettuce, tomato.  3 cheese sticks grated to top everyone’s tostada.  Chopped cucumber on the side with italian dressing.

Apple with almonds

This is a menu that our entire family would eat.  Hardly costly.  In fact, if I decided to do take out for lunch and dinner it would cost more for my family of five.  Our protein consumption has decreased (less money), while our vegetable consumption has increased (LESS MONEY).  This change has greatly increased our feeling of fullness as we are not trying to satisfy ourselves with carbs.  Carbs that cause a hunger for more carbs, which prove to be more costly in the long run.

Even more interesting, since I have started to feed the kids this way, I get ZERO complaints at dinner time.  They just EAT IT.  I think it’s the simplicity of the food that they actually enjoy.  Yesterday Fish grilled tri tip and I split two strips of tri tip among all of us.  I served fresh corn (no butter, just some salt) on the side along with a green salad.  They scarfed it down.  In the past I would have included a baked potato, but now with just one carb per meal, I decided to serve just the corn.  Nobody missed the potatoes.

Off my soap box for now.  More to rant later 😛

Leave a Reply

