Pickled Eggs

I’ve always liked pickled eggs.  The only kind I’ve ever had before was a recipe my dad would make with beets, chilies and onions.  Recently, my dad told me that he got a famous pickled egg recipe from a local bar in Long Beach called Joe Jost’s.  I’ve never been there myself, but my dad and brother say that their beer and food is really good.  From looking at their site online, I might feel like I’m raiding the man cave so I probably won’t go there to eat any time soon, BUT these eggs are AMAZING!

Even if you don’t think you’d like a pickled eggs, I highly recommend trying these.  Here’s the recipe…

Joe Jost’s Pickled Eggs

8 hard-boiled eggs, peeled
1 (12 ounce) jar yellow chile peppers
2 tablespoons pickling spice
1 cup white wine vinegar
1 1/2 scant cups water
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon turmeric
2 teaspoons salt

Mix all ingredients except eggs together in a glass jar with tight-fitting lid. Put peeled eggs in liquid. Don’t refrigerate. Keep eggs in sealed jar at least two days before using. May refrigerate after two days.

Leave a Reply

