Fear

I’ve always had a few consistent irrational, yet not completely impossible fears that would plague me at night.  The most troubling has been worrying about someone breaking into our house at night and torturing us.  The movie The Strangers is pretty much my worst fear.

Fish and I used to go to bed together at the same time and as long as he was somewhat awake when I fell asleep I’d be able to calm down enough to fall asleep.  Usually, he’d have to reassure me a few times and then check the house for me before I could relax.  Poor Fish.

For the past week Fish has decided to go to bed earlier while I stay up for another hour or two to work.  By the time I go to bed he’s sound asleep and I lay in bed freaking out.  Now, I worry about more and more things.  It’s getting really bad.  I worry about the possible break in, the kids getting seriously ill, me getting seriously ill, an apocalypse, you name it.  I need to figure out a way to calm down and get some sleep.  HELP.

Edited to Add:  My mom tells me to say a prayer before bed every night, but that isn’t cutting it.

3 thoughts on “Fear

  1. Okay. I’m a dork and I actually have a couple of links for you that may or may not help…and I know you are pretty knowledgeable about this kind of thing anyway so you might already know these, but I’m gonna tell you them anyway because I love you. 🙂

    First of all, this Advice Smackdown is specifically about fear of doctors, but there are suggestions for overcoming anxiety that you might be able to use.

    This is basically the opposite of the advice Amy gives in the above column, but here’s an interesting one about thought-stopping.

    Good luck! I’ll say a prayer for you too. 🙂

  2. Thanks Bethany, I’ll have to give these ideas a try. I really work on being rational and talking myself out of it, but it’s HARD. Fish always points out to me how low the crime rate in our city is very low and points out that there are few, if any, break ins. Even with that knowledge, it’s still hard for me. I’m definitely having very subtle panic attacks and, like you said, I know a LOT about this type of situation, so it’s very frustrating for me!

  3. I used to be a very fearful person but somewhere along the way I lost it. They sometimes say it’s a control thing and I’ve come to terms with how little control we have over anything in life and how depleting it is to worry about it. If you have trouble settling down at night, maybe some sort of calming bedtime ritual is in order: a bath, a glass of wine, reading, watching a soothing movie. Something to quiet the anxious thoughts. Lastly, I love the homeopathic supplement Calmes Forte. It really does help calm the nerves. xo

Leave a Reply

