HEALTHCARE HEALTHCARE HEALTHCARE!!!!

Good NESS!  I feel the need to write something about Healthcare today, 8 minutes before midnight.  Whooooosh…that is the sound of me exhaling a huge sigh of relief.  My “baby”, who just turned 8 this past Friday, can finally be put our our private insurance policy.  It feels so very surreal to be saying that.  A little over a year ago, Fish and I made the decision to change our insurance from the $1800 a MONTH policy that was an extension of COBRA to a “less expensive” policy (at the rate of $700 a month).

I was denied insurance on this plan due to infertility issues, even though I didn’t want any maternity coverage.  Clarabelle was denied coverage due to pre-existing conditions that included Plagiocephaly, Torticollis, Gross Motor Skill Delays, and a few other issues that, by the time we were applying for coverage, had been resolved over a year prior.  This denial felt like such a kick in the face.  It’s hard for me to describe the anger boiling up inside me.  My daughter had endured years of therapy.  Fish and I had worked so hard to get her all the care she needed.  We ended up paying out of pocket for a lot of treatment anyhow, because even when we had insurance, they wouldn’t cover therapies needed.  We overcame and she thrived and it was all behind us, so we thought.  There it seeped back into our lives, in black and white, on a denial letter.

So today, I am happy.  I am thrilled.  My daughter can have insurance.  I am saddened that it seems that a lot of people do not understand that what I wanted was NOT a handout.  We have always been willing to pay for Clarabelle’s needs, but when those needs are billed at such a high cost, something has to give.  So now, we don’t have to worry about the medical catastrophe that would bring our family down and I am more than happy to pay the (ridiculously large, but doable) premium to allow her to have the same care as her daddy and sisters.

I, on the other hand, am sitting here with an ear infection, afraid to go to the doctor and have another “pre-existing condition” put on my medical file.  Good things come to those who wait, I hope….

3 thoughts on “HEALTHCARE HEALTHCARE HEALTHCARE!!!!

  1. Oh Man.
    I am so glad Clarabelle has been given cover. That is fantastic news.
    I can’t believe that they won’t cover you though, even though you aren’t planning on having more kids.

    And even though I have heard the price tags before, I still cannot fathom how health care can cost that much. It is just insane.
    It’s no cheap here (Aust) but it is certainly nowhere near those prices.

    I have no idea what the current health care reform in the US is really about. But I certainly hope that it is a step in the right direction considering what you guys have been going through.

  2. Congrats! And hopefully this is all a step in the right direction!

    And I’m sorry about the ear infection. Those really hurt! Get better soon 🙂

  3. Someday they get their heads out of their nether-regions and will stop treating everything as a pre-existing condition.

Leave a Reply

