Misses

There are few things about where we live that I will miss.  I’m ready to move out and move on.  Although, today I decided to think about the things that I will miss when we leave.  Two things came to mind today.  The lemon tree out back and the heater in our bathroom.

I love being able to go outside and have lemons any time.  I have found that our menu usually includes at least a dozen lemons in recipes a week.  I like being able to grind them in the disposal and smelling that clean lemon smell.  I will definitely miss the lemon tree.

The bathroom heater.  It’s dangerous, it’s ugly, and I love it.  Our bathroom has a wall heater with a grate covering that looks like a BBQ grill.  I always joke with Fish that if our oven breaks we can always cook our food in front of the bathroom heater.  Once you leave the shower you can bake in front of the heater.  If I’m bored or want to entertain the kids during their baths I throw handfuls of water at the heater and listen to it sizzle.  I’m going to miss that heater.

2 thoughts on “Misses

  1. Oh! You have one of those horrible, dangerous, AWESOME wall heaters!? We had one of those in our first house here in San Diego when we were newlyweds, and I loved it. After we’d lived there about a year, it broke and I was so sad. I was sure that our landlord would never replace it, that it had been in the house since it was built in the 40s and they probably didn’t even make those anymore. Imagine my delighted surprise when the handyman picked a shiny new one up at Home Depot and installed it in about ten minutes. I seriously considered prying it out of the wall and taking it with me when we moved.

    It’s probably a good thing I didn’t find out about this sooner, or else I would have found a reason to take a shower at your house. 🙂

  2. You will have to invest in a small portable heater for your next bathroom because I am sure the winters will be a bit nippy out there compared to sunny Southern CA. Rob has one in his basement bathroom because it seems that room never gets enough heat and it helps enormously.

    I miss our neighbors lemon trees also. I could get lemons anytime I wanted….just walked to the community center to the mail room and there was always a crate of lemons avail. Awww, fresh lemonade!!

Leave a Reply

