Bittersweet

Today we celebrated Pixie’s 4th birthday.  It was a bit of a bittersweet celebration as my brother and his wife were away at the hospital with my SIL’s brother.  I want to respect their privacy so I won’t go into details, but my SIL’s brother was/is very ill.  My nephew was with us to celebrate.  I’m glad that we were able to keep him busy and not miss his parents too much.

Pixie had a wonderful time and we can honestly say that she didn’t get slighted in the least as far as birthday parties go.  A worry my mom has because of how Pixie’s birthday lands between Christmas and New Year’s.

On to other thoughts….

Elizabeth said an interesting comment in my New Year’s post….

“How much do you want to lose?
Wanna know why I wanna lose weight? So guys notice me and I know that I’m an attractive woman and my husband can be proud of me. And my kids. And myself. I hate being fat. *sigh*”

I have to say that I completely understand what she is talking about.  The short answer for me is that I’m sick of being seen as an asexual mom blob.  I want to be attractive and have guys notice me too.  Not because I want to cheat on my husband, but more so he can be excited to be seen with me when we go out.  I don’t know if this is a bad way of thinking about my body image but I guess I don’t really care because that idea in my head won’t be going away any time soon, ha!

One thought on “Bittersweet

  1. I feel the exact same way about losing weight! I want to look *good* for myself, Rob and the kids. I am totally with ya….

Leave a Reply

