Being Social

A few weeks ago I was in the thick of finding things to do with the girls as summer was winding down.  I had been doing a lot with them and not taking a whole lot of time for myself to unwind.  I was starting to feel a little bit isolated.  I told Fish that I was starting to feel alone and anti social but there wasn’t a whole lot I could do about it.  Two days after that conversation I received a call from the mom of one of Clarabelle’s classmates.  She invited the two of us over for a pool party.  We had a wonderful time.  I saw a lot of the moms from school that I hadn’t talked to in a long time.  Met a couple of new moms.  All were very nice.  It felt good to have that time with other parents.

Not too long after that I was able to sneak away to Bethany’s while my parents watched the girls.  Brenda was visiting also.  We painted pottery and visited and had a great time.  I really felt lucky to have such good friends to spend some “me time” with.

A couple of days ago one of my friends from high school, who I reconnected with at our reunion, got in touch with me to make plans to get together for cocktails with another one of our mutual friends.  I was starting to feel a lot less isolated and anti social.

Yesterday I had a chance to meet up with some more friends.  Tomorrow I’ll be sure to write more about that.  I just think it is so funny that just when I was starting to feel lonely and isolated, there were people in my life to come forward and prove me to be so very wrong.  I like how that works.

One thought on “Being Social

Leave a Reply

