Longing

Fish and I are back from our trip to North Carolina.  I have a lot to write about.  Soon I’ll get it all out but for now I just have to say that I already miss the place.  I’m happy to be home with my kids.  I don’t miss NC for the freedom that I had exploring it with Fish alone without our kids.  I miss NC in a way that I want to pack up the girls and share with them what we experienced.

I miss the kind and friendly people, the blue skies, the beautiful surroundings.  It is all so glaringly different here in Southern California.  I’m back to a world of feeling alone among a sea of people.  I went to the grocery store this morning and I had to work hard to get people to acknowledge my “good mornings” and “how are you doing?”  Those words just don’t flow as freely here.  People don’t want to help others out here like they did out there.  They want to do the least amount as possible to get you on your way.  It’s sad really.

Before this trip I thought maybe I was suffering from “the grass is always greener” syndrome.  Now I know that is not the case.  When Fish and I got to Raleigh we both felt really out of sorts.  I had never been to Raleigh before.  I had visited smaller towns.  The second day we traveled to New Bern and passed through many more towns.  I realize that I prefer the smaller areas more.  With that knowledge today, I miss all of North Carolina.

3 thoughts on “Longing

  1. I dunno, maybe you live in the wrong town in CA. Where I live, people routinely say hello and how are you to each other. Not that I’m trying to change your mind or argue your point; North Carolina is a WORLD away from California in many ways and if you feel more at home there then move with my blessing. I’ve lived many places and I know how much easier and more peaceful it is when I live somewhere that I fit in. 🙂

    I can’t wait to hear all about it in person!

  2. I know what you mean when you say “feeling alone in a sea full of people” and I also know the “grass is always greener” syndrome. When we moved to CA we had visions of beautiful weather (experienced), we loved the new lifestyle with SO much to do (beach, mountains, desert and so forth) BUT I can truly say I MISSED our families SOOOOO much! Another HUGE factor was at that time real estate prices were at the all time high,we could not afford to buy a house. We also did not to raise the kids in such a high crime, gang infested area. I was in constant fear because I heard the 911 calls through my headset every day at work. I missed the small town feel.

    I am not trying to impose my feelings on you by any means. The decision to move your family is one you and Fish have to make on your own. I will support you either way….and if you do move to NC I PROMISE to make regular visits. My sister lives less than 1 1/2 hours from Raleigh.

    Can’t wait to hear more about your adventures….love ya!

    P.S.Molly’s haircut is cute! it makes her look older…sniff sniff.

Leave a Reply

