Preparation

I’m trying to get the house in as much order as possible before Fish and I leave on our trip.  I’m realizing that my parents are hardcore homebodies so the idea of hanging out in my home seems to be stressing them out a bit.  I want them to feel as at ease here as possible.  For them and for the kids.

I got my hair cut today and picked up some cute shoes.  Fish and I still need to pick up some luggage.  We have a small suitcase that he always used for business trips or we would share for visits to his parents’ but I don’t think that is going to cut it for this trip.  I hope to be ready to go by Sunday so we can spend that day hanging out and having fun with the girls.

We also received some more good news today.  Fish’s future income was a little bit up in the air, but it looks like there maybe more of a guarantee of income, well past the time frame that we want to move.  That was our biggest concern in regards to the move.   If our predictions of income stay the same we should be good to go!  This makes me even more excited about this trip.

Speaking of income.  I’ve been very ambivalent about my work.  I have been thinking about closing my shop.  Not entirely, but limiting the work that I do.  It’s very exciting when people want to order pieces from me, but it keeps me from doing projects that I want to do and that makes me sad.  I think my biggest problem is repetition.  I hate doing the same thing over and over.  I know I need to be more disciplined but it’s so hard when there are all these ideas in my head that want to get out.  I have a couple of clients who have turned into friends and we all come up with great ideas together.  I’m tempted to close my shop and exclusively work on these projects.  It would still be income but not as much as if I continued with my shop.  I’m sort of OK with this, but it feels good to contribute as much as I can to the household.  I think I’m going to have to think about this some more.

Edited to Add:  I just realized how ugly this blog looks.  I hope to make it prettier when I return!

3 thoughts on “Preparation

  1. Glad to hear you got good news about Fish’s income. That will make everything less stressful. Raleigh/Durham is a huge technology hub with Charlotte not too far away. Who knows what kind of opportunites could present itself to Fish.

    Good Luck getting packed and….have a marvelous time!! I can’t wait to hear about your adventures.

    Hugs!
    CJ

  2. Wow! That’s great about the money! Have fun on your trip! Maybe you need to hire an employee…lol! I admit-I’m jealous of your WAHM career. And I need to pick your brain sometime cause you’ve totally inspired me to follow a similar route (with a different product).

    Have fun packing!

Leave a Reply

